Recently I was shocked to find that some of my posts were buried in my archives where few people would see them.  The first word that came out of my mouth was Humph!!! Apparently, if you start a post it is assigned the date you originally started the post and that date stays with it into eternity unless it’s changed…sometimes!  Humph!  It was then that I decided I would reincarnate some of my old posts in a regular weekly series.  Immediately it hit me…I’d call it Humph! Day.  And what better day of the week should I have Humph! Day?  Wednesday, of course.  So this will be a regular feature and I hope I won’t bore my earlier followers as I revisit the posts of my past.

Thwarting Levi

A while back I had a neuro-psych review.  It was an all-day event and I left there feeling bereft and bewildered.  Only one thing could help this unfortunate combination.  RETAIL THERAPY!!!  I needed a new laptop, so rather than do my research, I went straight to Best Buy looking to procure the best PC for my needs that they had on their shelves.  I took at least an hour and a half looking, comparing, lifting for weight, tapping to see if they were plastic…you get the picture.  There was this very nice sales guy who endured this tedious, nay painful process.  I offered him an out.  It told him I was just browsing, but he was adamant that he wasn’t busy and this was preferable to anything else he might do.  Poor guy, I don’t think I want to know what his alternatives were, they must have been downright daunting.
I kept looking.  Nothing was right, I was about to leave the store.  Then I had this moment of whimsy and caprice.  I enquired if they had an Apple section.  Of course, they did!  I wandered over there, the stalwart salesman in tow, and walked right up to the MacBook Air.  Now I had always thought of Macs as being elegant, yet pricey.  Beautiful, yet scarily different OS-wise.  I walked right up to that MacBook Air, my fingers flew over the keys.  I lovingly touched the aluminum case.  I lifted the almost 3 lbs of computing exhilaration.  Then, the still faithful sales companion said the unthinkable. “This model is currently $150 off.”  I nearly swooned.
The Apple store never has sales, ever.  I could have this amazing machine for $150 off!!  All of this happened in the span of about 4 minutes; I’m not kidding!  Said salesman was totally flummoxed when I told him there and then that I would take it.  I thought HE was going to swoon.  He had walked the trail of PC inadequacy with me for such a long time, it was inconceivable that I knew this was the one so quickly.
Then, even after he knew he had made the sale, he did something so remarkable, it still takes my breath away.  He lifted the laptop about a foot and a half above the shelf and let it drop.   Solid state drive, no moving parts.  Levi-proof!  My beloved Great Dane had ruined three laptops in the span of a couple of years.  He liked to jump on the couch.  I sometimes left my laptop on the couch.  Hard drives don’t appreciate Great Danes jumping on them. Hard drives die when Great Danes jump on them.  It’s not surprising the flood of emotions I had when I saw this feat of computer endurance.  I went from infatuation, to lust, to true love in a millisecond.  My brain may be impaired, but damn it all, I was going to learn a new OS on my nice new, aluminum-cased, lightweight, elegantly appointed laptop.  And I did.
40 thoughts on “Humph! Day #2

  1. Wow so that’s what you are still using? I always wondered how hard it would be to switch over and know how pricey they are. So what are you thoughts now after using a while? Oh and I LOVE the pup pix!! It’s funny to me that my little Max seems to have a natural affection towards Great Danes and will go up to one or one will approach him at the dog park and he NEVER gets scared of them vs a much smaller dog and he’s typically super cautious! I think he just knows they are such gentle giants.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I LOVE THIS COMPUTER!!! The only way I will give it up is if I buy a newer, better version. Next time I will splurge and get the retina display and more RAM. Other than that, pure joy. It’s not very hard to get the hang of the new OS. If you ever decide to take the plunge I’d be happy to help you.

      Your Max is adorable. Great Danes are often amused by little dogs. My two don’t have much experience with them. Levi is not sociable to people at all. I think he channels my introversion and keeps people away from me. We had an electrician here who loved dogs. I told him that Levi wasn’t to be trusted and I would put him in the other room. No no says the electrician. Levi watched him suspiciously until the electrician came toward me holding a tool bag. Levi was not about to let this guy, with a weapon, come between us. He gave the electrician a warning bite. Nothing serious, but he got his point across. Suddenly the electrician wasn’t sure he wanted Levi in the same room. I warned him! 😉

      Now Walter is one who will kill you with kindness. Too much kindness. He’ll lap and slobber you. He’ll push against you trying to get you to pat him. If that doesn’t work, he’ll try to put his paws on your shoulders so he can look you in the eye and then give your face one big lick from chin to fore head! Walter is going in for his neutering in about 2 hours. I feel kind of bad for him, but it might slow him down for while. Maybe a minute. If we’re lucky. Hehehe

      How old is Max? He’s cute as a button. Does he go on all of your adventures with you?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love my MacBook. It cost more than the strictly equivelent PC would have. But oh those intangibles! I still love it even though the iPhone has priced itself right out of my market and it makes it difficult when your phone and laptop don’t play nice together.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tehe! Love my Mac, although this summer I cracked the little glowing apple on the front. Luckily I won an iPad at a conference, so I made the decision to cease hauling my laptop to and from school this fall and instead outfit my locker with its very own iPad in a durable OtterBox (because if that thing has kept my phone safe for the last three years I trust it). This way my cracked apple can’t expand to a broken computer altogether!

    I also must say, impulse buys are my favourite, especially as a poor looking student. I love the look of shock and awe from the salesperson who brushed by me, in favour of someone who looked wealthier, towards the poor sap they pawned me off on when I suddenly drop a wad of cash on something (something I need mind you). This is also why I tip incredibly well when I go out for food–if I’m buying, I’m going big and that waiter/waitress is going to want my table if I come back even though I’m generally a party of one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, sweetie, we are cut from the same cloth. I once had a waitress ask me if I had waited tables in my past. That made me smile. You may be a poor student now but being generous is a reward that tends to come back to you.

      I am so sorry to hear that your little Mac apple got cracked. Does it still light up? Poor little Mac. 🍎

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved the Humph day idea! Amazingly creative and funny as always… And I’ve missed you! I don’t really know why I was absent for 1 month. Guess my brain needed some fixing too lol. But I’m back and eager to catch up 🙂 Love you

    Liked by 1 person

  5. How the beep did this not show up in my reader? Keeps happening! I love this post. If Guest in Jest didn’t have the word, er, Guest in it…this would be a perfect submission!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s very weird, I’ve been having trouble with things not showing up via email. I go through all of my emails and check all of the comments and then I go to the notifications area and there are oodles more! Last night I found some from three days ago. VERY weird.

      I’m glad you liked this one. There will be more coming. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

