Back in the mid 80’s, I worked for a doomed Presidental campaign.  I was only 20 at the time and….ok I was 22.  What’s in a number, right?

Soooo, back in the 80’s, I was working for Vice President Mondale in his bid for the presidency.  It was a great experience but it left me jaded toward all things related to politics. Even a squeaky-clean candidate like Mondale had professional campaigners who broke one law after another…local, state, federal…it didn’t matter.  I was so disenchanted.

My job was to meet delegates and convince them to vote for Mondale at the state convention.  One by one, I met them as I traveled throughout a nearby county in my quest for votes.  As you can imagine, I spent a lot of time in the car.

Back then I enjoyed driving fast.  I’ve always enjoyed driving fast.  I can say that now that I can’t drive anymore.  I don’t have to worry that there will be law enforcement folks reading this and conspire to catch me driving 20 miles an hour over the speed limit.

Luckily my time with the campaign came with a rental car.  It wasn’t a fancy car, but it got me where I needed to go in a “timely” manner.  In other words, the car allowed me to go like a bat out of hell.  That was my preferred driving experience until a cop clocked me doing 90mph in a 55.  He was going the opposite direction and I checked the rearview mirror.  I saw him screech to a halt and do a three point turn.  Damn,  (not the first word that came to mind) I was about to be incarcerated.

Just as I was having this thought I saw a road coming up on my right.  Another thought came to mind in that split second.  I was driving a rental car and it wasn’t rented under my name.  I mashed the brake to the floor and made the turn on two wheels in a cloud of dust.  The road was dirt so I knew there would be no question about where I went.  The trail of dust I left behind me was substantial.

I’d never traveled a dirt road that fast, nor have I since.  I was cranking.  Suddenly a fox came out of nowhere, but I successfully avoided him.  I kept looking in the rear view mirror but all I saw was the big dust plume obscuring my view.  I kept going till I reached the next town.  Only then did I slow down.

Once the adrenaline had subsided, it occurred to me what I had done.  I had outrun the police.  I couldn’t believe I’d done it! I couldn’t believe I’d succeeded! Here I was being jaded about covert political misdeeds and I’d committed the most overt transgression of them all.  It was a brazen move, but it kept out of big trouble.  That was a good thing because I didn’t have a Get Out of Jail Free Card.

18 thoughts on “No One Has a Monopoly on Misconduct

      1. So you would rather stay in jail than take a risk listening to my musical choices? Considering the stress you would be under, I might very well make an exception you know! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Hahahaha! Thanks for putting ideas into our heads you wonderful influence you! You know I actually applaud you on this one. I can see Linda in The Italian Job or the Fast and the Furious being super badass, drifting corners and what not! This is a really great image! Can I be you when I grow up?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love it! Dukes of Hazzard move?! Dang- you wild and crazy woman –

    Just a good ol’ girl
    Never meanin’ no harm
    Beats all you never saw
    Been in trouble with the law
    Since the day she was born

    Staightenin’ the curves
    Flattenin’ the hills
    Someday the mountain might get ‘er
    But the law never will

    Makin’ her way
    The only way she knows how
    That’s just a little bit more
    Than the law will allow- …. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh gosh 😂I thought I’d look at some of your older posts and so glad I did! But you’re so sweet! You outran the police…Oh my gosh, too funny.
    Oh and bummer on the political campaign stuff but the speeding away like Smokey and the Bandit. Priceless (3rd movie reference in your comments section btw.)
    Cannonball Run
    4th reference!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

