This was my birthday cake this past January.  There are any number of questions that might pop into your head once given this information:

Question:  Why did they even make a football cake?  Answer:  It was close to the time of the Superbowl.

Question:  Why is there a blue stripe around the bottom?  Answer:  I can only guess that it’s there because blue is one of the colors for the New England Patriots.

Question:  Am I a big football fan and that’s why I got a football cake for my birthday?  Answer:  I’m not and it isn’t.

This was all very curious.  You see, a cake is the one thing I want for my birthday.  I allow myself to have cake in this house once a year and my birthday is the perfect excuse. Bill’s job is to get the cake.  Bill hates picking out things for me, and especially something I look forward to so much.  You can imagine that it was with some trepidation that he brought home a football cake.

I didn’t have to say anything, he had his reasoning all mapped out:

  1.  It wasn’t too big and it wasn’t too small.
  2. It was unusual.
  3. It was timely because of the Superbowl, even though I’m not a football fan.

I was thoroughly amused by this cake, but I wasn’t going to let him know it till I got to the bottom of the real story.   I figured it was the last cake they had left.  No, he assured me, they had plenty of cakes.  He restated his three reasons.  I knew there had to be more.  Don’t ask me why I had to know what it was, but curiosity got the better of me.

I must have had a skeptical look on my face because he then told me that the real reason why I ended up with a football cake for my birthday was because of the color of the frosting.

Now I was stumped.  Why brown?  Come to find out, he couldn’t stand the thought of me eating the artificial food coloring on the other cakes.  Once I understood the real reason I got a football cake instead of a typical birthday cake, I decided to have a little fun.

That blue stripe around the bottom of the cake was VERY blue.  The intensity of that blue cannot be understated.  So I took some of the blue, smeared it on my lips and went to find Bill.  Let me tell you, Blue Man Group had nothing on me.  My lips were so blue I looked positively cyanotic!

Bill took one look at me and his eyes widened unbelievably.   I could tell he thought I was going to keel over from artificial-food-coloring poisoning any minute now.  I gave him my very best Smurf smile and calmly told him that the blue part was the best because you never know what they might put in brown frosting!

11 thoughts on “Football Cake

      1. Really appreciate the way you encourage others. I have a few vegetarian dishes in my blog. And I am looking forward for your posts. Thanking you. Regards Sumith

        Like

Leave a Reply

